Our Books

Take Six: Six Spanish Women Writers

Translator: Simon Deefholts, Kathryn Phillips-Miles   Edited by: Simon Deefholts, Kathryn Phillips-Miles   Cover design: Marie Lane  

Take Six: Six Spanish Women Writers is an anthology of short stories by six outstanding Spanish women writers: Emilia Pardo Bazán (1851-1921), Carmen de Burgos (1867-1932), Carmen Laforet (1921-2004), Cristina Fernández Cubas (born 1945), Soledad Puértolas (born 1947) and Patricia Erlés (born 1972).

The stories span over one hundred years, starting with the indomitable Emilia Pardo Bazán, whose casual and often humorous portrayal of brutal domestic violence set a paradigm for the writers who followed her to explore every aspect of the roles imposed on women by a male-dominated society, delving into subjects ranging from love and betrayal to bereavement, arson and murder, without losing touch with the humorous side of seemingly impossible situations. Relatively few women writers are translated into English, and this anthology is an attempt to rectify that imbalance and to introduce readers to some truly captivating tales from Spain.

Take Six: Six Spanish Women Writers has been shortlisted for The Valle-Inclan Translation Prize for 2023.

List of stories:

Emilia Pardo Bazan:
The Skull
A Secret Vengeance
The Red Stockings
Strafulated Eggs
A Good Set of Teeth
Nearly an Artist

Carmen de Burgos:
A Mother for a Daughter
The Final Wish
Those Who Didn't Survive

Carmen Laforet:
The Dead Wife
The Summer Holiday
Going Back Home
The Photograph

Cristina Fernandez Cubas:
The Angle of Horror
The Woman in Green

Soledad Puertolas:
Two Other Men
The Sea Flooding Underground Car Parks

Patricia Erles:
On Apples and Arses
The Game
The Woman in Red
The Ugly Princess
Marilyn Monroe

RRP: £9.99

No. of pages: 266

Publication date: 28.01.2022

Re-print date: 28.01.2022

ISBN numbers:
978 1 912868 76 6
978 1912868 87 2

Dedalus World English in this anthology